55 Sixth Avenue
Williams Lake, BC  V2G 1K8

250-392-2111

Closed Sundays, opened Mon-Sat for lunch and dinner.

 

EDITED Aug 16, 2010… MOVED!!  New address is 770 Oliver Street at 250-305-0035.

Sushi & Steak House on Urbanspoon

August 12, 2009

wasaaaaabi

wasaaaaabi

Someone forgot to take the salmon out of the freezer (*ahem* not me!) so nothing was thawed out enough to prepare.   Hence, no dinner awaited me when I got home from work.  So it was take-out tonight.  However, I just so happened to be talking about the local sushi place with my last patient so I had the taste for it in my head.  Sushi & Steak House was where I had dragged Mr O off to.

smoked salmon roll

smoked salmon roll

When I had first moved to Williams Lake, if you wanted sushi you had to wait for it to come out on particular days at the Safeway deli section.  And even then you’d only be able to find the obligatory “western” rolls, such as the california or kappa.  I never bothered to try it… I didn’t even know if the rolls were made on-site.  Then, a couple of years ago a franchise from California by the name of ‘California Roll & Sushi’ (I know, right?) opened up a place in town.  Though the food was good, the service was slow and atrocious.  Needless to say, they didn’t last long.  After several months of operation, the place closed down, changed ownership, and re-opened.  The service was still slow, and the food didn’t taste as good anymore.  They lasted even shorter than their predecessor.

fried gyoza, prawn & yam tempura

fried gyoza, prawn & yam tempura

But alas!  It re-opened once more and though the signage above the restaurant still hangs the old California Roll logo, ‘Sushi & Steak House’ was born!  My first visit there was with trepidation as I have been burned twice already by this location.  I had an extended lunch break so I figured this would be the best time to go, if they were slow I’d hopefully wouldn’t be late for work… but they were so quick!  I was in and out within a matter of 30 minutes!

I used to go and get their bento boxes, but last summer they introduced the concept of all-you-can-eat and I was sold.  I think the idea of sushi was still a novelty to the local population and I made sure to spread the word that the new sushi restaurant was worth trying.  What can I say?… I wanted this place to last.

The a la carte menu is still available, but if you eat sashimi you’d find you get more bang for your buck with the AYCE.  The menu is very limited when compared to counterparts found in the Lower Mainland, but you’d still find a wide variety of maki-rolls, tempura, teriyaki meat with fried noodles, and nigiri sushi.  Tonight we had miso, fried gyoza, prawn and yam tempura, dynamite roll, avocado roll, smoked salmon roll, and the crazy roll.  We also ordered ebi, tuna and salmon nigiri, as well as tuna and salmon sashimi.

craaaaazy roll

craaaaazy roll

The crazy roll is basically a deep-fried california roll, served with a dollop of mayo and hot sauce.  It’s probably my favourite maki on the menu… there’s just something tasty about crunchy fried rice!  Mr O prefers the smoked salmon roll.

But the one thing that keeps me coming back time over time again is their sashimi aka “the raw stuff”.  Perhaps it’s just me, but in my experience when I eat salmon sashimi in restaurants north of Hope, I find that there is always a smoky – almost lox like – taste and texture to the fish.  This is a major turn-off for me because I do not like smoked fish.  The salmon sashimi at the Sushi & Steak House does *not* have this problem.  On occasion the sashimi comes out still slightly icy, but it never has that weird loxy taste!

sashimi...action shot!

sashimi...action shot!

For those who still aren’t sold on the idea of eating sushi and raw seafood, they also have steak and other western-type food on the menu, however they are not available for AYCE.

salmon nigiri... yum!

salmon nigiri... yum!

When we first started coming here a year ago, there were never too many patrons inside.  There would be times where we were the only ones in there.  But now, fast-forward a year later, they are always hopping when we arrive.  That’s good news for me because that’s a good sign they’re here to stay!

The sushi chef is always there at the front smiling and welcoming you in, and the madame proprietor is always hyper and very friendly.  They even know us here by face, which is a pretty neat experience as that’s never happened to us before.

a strawberry finish

a strawberry finish

Taking pictures here was a real treat too.  There was so much I wanted to capture because everything here was so colourful and artfully plated out!  And because this was a place I’ve been to before, I felt comfortable enough to take my time with each shot.  I was almost more familiar with my camera by now so I was able to breeze through the functions with ease.

A new food list was placed at our table when we were nearly done eating what we had in front of us, but we were both too full to order any more food.  When we were finally finished, the plates were cleared away and a small plate with a sliced up strawberry appeared, one for each of us.  I thought it was a cute finishing touch :)

