42225 Trans Canada Hwy
Hells Gate, BC V0K 1C0

604-867-9260

Mon-Fri 7am-6pm, Sat/Sun 8am-6pm.  Tuesdays closed during winter

Elvis Rocks the Canyon Cafe on Urbanspoon

August 16, 2009

storefront

storefront

Any Elvis fans in the house?  If so, you’d absolutely LOVE this place!  Just imagine finding every possible memorabilia related to the King of Rock and jamming it all into one building!  This is the reality of the Elvis Rocks the Canyon Cafe located on the Trans Canada Highway just south of Hells Gate.  It’s a common stopping point for many motorcyclists and weekend highway cruisers.

I thought about visiting this place many many times and stepped into it for the first time today.  As luck would have it today just happened to be the Annual Elvis Memorial Ride.  It’s a yearly event in which motorcyclists, classic car enthusiasts and the like make their way from Langley all the way to the Fraser Canyon, where  lunch is provided for them by the Elvis Cafe.

deluxe burger

deluxe burger

Unfortunately for this taste tester, that meant a very VERY limited menu was available.  They were out of chicken, and the only thing on offer were the hamburgers or sandwiches.  I’m not normally a hamburger fan but I decided to order one anyway.  I decided to go with the basic ‘Deluxe Burger’, and Mr O opted for the cheeseburger variety.

Ladies and gentlemen, I’m afraid to say that I did not care for my burger.  I’m not sure if the patties were cooked earlier for the Memorial Run and then re-heated on the grill, but the meat was very dry and very salty.  I could not finish more than half of it.  Mr O did much better than I did and ate both halves of his burger.  His meal was also on the dry side, but he has a higher affinity for salty food than I did.

Both burgers came with lettuce, tomatoes, pickles, a healthy dose of mayo, and a type of sweet relish.  The fries were very decent but could probably be a tad crispier.  To finish off the meal, we ordered a slice of pie.

more blueberry pie!  Yum!

more blueberry pie! Yum!

They had a huge variety of pies which included apple, strawberry rhubarb, blueberry, cherry, and lemon.  Since I was on a blueberry roll, that’s what we had.  I knew what warm pie tasted like, I wanted to try it cold this time.  (Yes, in case you haven’t figured it out by now, I’m quite green behind the ears when it comes to pies… it’s just not an integral part of Chinese cuisine and I never had any growing up!).

a hunka hunka burnin' luv...

a hunka hunka burnin' luv...

I thought the pie was quite good but Mr O thought it would’ve tasted better warmed up.  That’s fine though, because I ended up eating most of it which was what I had intended all along, heh heh heh.

Overall, this much anticipated visit turned out to be somewhat of a disappointment.  I contribute much of our experience to poor timing on our part… who knew that the one time we finally decided to enter this landmark establishment that most of the menu would not be available?  I’d love to try the Elvis Cafe again sometime in the future to form a different opinion.