83 2nd Avenue
Williams Lake, BC  V2G 3W3

250-392-5629

Porky's Deli on Urbanspoon

October 7, 2009

It’s been a long while since the last time I’ve had lunch with the girls from work so today we decided to rectify that.  It was a very brisk autumn afternoon… (read: it was very cold!)  Funny how in a matter of mere days the weather goes from one extreme to the next up here in the Cariboo.  So braving the frigid temperatures, we walked to Porky’s Deli.

There are no hours posted up at the place and I’ve yet to determine exactly what their hours are.  However, I do know that they close at 5:30pm on weeknights.  Lunch time is always steady here with a line of hungry consumers, and the food is very good.  The menu typically stays the same and it’s made fresh everyday.

 

cabbage roll and lasagna... mmm...

cabbage roll and lasagna... mmm...

You’ll find the format of the restaurant very similiar to that of a cafeteria.  Basically, you get yourself into the line-up, browse the selection of food available behind the glass panel (but don’t take too long!), tell the nice lady what you’d like to eat, and then proceed on to the check-out where your food will be waiting for you.  They even serve your food on those nifty cheap plastic trays!

Food is served in 6, 8, 10, 12 or 14 ounce containers.  Containers larger than 10 ounces allow you the option to choose more than one food item if you wish.  I can’t recall what the exact prices are for each of the sizes, but I do remember that you can choose a combo platter which allows you 4 different items for the mere price of $10.

 

curried chicken & chapatis

curried chicken & chapatis

cinny bun

cinny bun

My companions today are Miss B and Miss D.  I decided to split a 10 0z dish and chose the meat lasagna and a cabbage roll.  For dessert I added in a cube of their lemon cake.  Miss B ordered an 8oz dish of curried chicken and chapatis.  A huge honkin’ cinnamon roll rounded off her meal.  Miss D decided to follow her appetite’s calling and had the combo plate.  They filled it with curried rice & brocoli, beef stroganoff, roasted potatoes & sausage, and mac & cheese.  No dessert for her today, but she got an orange pop to drink.

Oiy, it was so much food and it was so good!  The noodles on my lasagna were really tender and the sauce nicely seasoned, as was the cabbage roll.  My only complaint was that there could’ve been more sauce on the cabbage roll itself.  And my cake was moist and very dense without overwhelming me with a strong flavour of lemon… just the way I like it.  Miss B’s dish looked delicious but I knew that it was way too spicy for me, and I was too stuffed to steal a bite out of her cinnamon roll.  The most surprising thing about this date for me though is probably witnessing Miss D finish her entire plate of food.  Ladies and gentlemen, I’ve never *ever* seen Miss D eat that much before!  I never knew that she even had it in her!  Needless to say, she didn’t help herself to the cinnamon roll either.

 

...combo plate anyone?...

...combo plate anyone?...

What if you’re not that hungry?  Well, for the merely peckish folks, they have a cooler full of sandwiches, quiches, cold breads and many types of salads.  As well they have a counter full of large glass jars that are filled with what looked like chocolate candies.

So folks, don’t let the plain store front fool you… there are lots of good stuff to eat inside!  I know I’ll be back for sure.

