3075 Highway 97
150 Mile House, BC   V0K 2G0

250-296-4235

Opened 7 days a week for breakfast and lunch, closed for the winter.

Thyme For Tea on Urbanspoon

December 20, 2009

It was an impulsive all-girls day at the tea house!  The girls from the clinic: Miss B, Miss D, Miss J, Doc Kay, Doc Bee, and myself decided to spend a lovely Sunday afternoon at Thyme For Tea (it shares its space with the Yellow Umbrella which happens to be a really nice gift store).  Since Doc Ar is a boy, we decided to invite his wife instead, Lady Ar.

This was my first time here, or in any tea house for that matter.  It was soooo cozy and just the perfect way to spend hours at a time with a group of girlfriends.  Because it was so close to the holidays, there were Christmas decorations and gift ideas everywhere you looked.  There were a few essential oils that I was tempted to buy and a really nice necklace that caught my eye but couldn’t justify buying… so I instead took enjoyment in window shopping.

There was an enormous amount of teas to choose from, all categorised.  Since I wasn’t really familiar with “western-type” teas, I stuck with a simple Green Tea (unadventurous, I know…)  The pots came encased in cute little cozies and everyone had a different style of china cup.  Our table was really starting to look like a tea party!

 

...I'm a little tea pot...

...more tea please!...

High Tea was available for $40 and consisted of tea and assorted sandwiches and pastries for 2 people, but it was much past lunch time and most of us were famished (yours truly included) so we opted to order from the actual menu.  I had the chicken salad sandwich, which had chunks of chicken, shredded almonds and dried cranberries on whole grain bread.

...soooo warm...

...chicken salad sandwich...

Overall I found it pretty tasty, but slightly on the bland side.  It came with a bowl of tomato pasta soup that really warmed me up, considering it was probably about -20C that afternoon.  (In fact, I think everyone also opted for the soup with their meals.)  Miss D ordered the garden sandwich, which was literally a salad stacked between slices of bread and she really enjoyed it.  Lady Ar and Miss B had the cucumber sandwich, Doc Bee ordered a quiche, Miss J got the egg salad sandwich, and Doc Kay (who actually already had lunch prior to arrival) ordered the scone, which came with butter, jam and devonshire cream.  (I’m soooo getting the scone the next time I’m there!)

...scone and jam...

For dessert I had the Christmas Platter, which turned out to be a plate of assorted goodies including a brownie, nanaimo bar, sugar cookies, a raspberry tart and a square of carrot cake.

...Christmas Platter...

Miss D had a slice of the Triple Layer Chocolate Cake, and Doc Bee split a slice of the Cranberry Cheesecake with Lady Ar.

...Cranberry Cheesecake...

In the end, I ended up falling in love with the chocolate cake and my plate of goodies was actually more in line with what Miss D felt like eating, so we ended up swapping desserts.  Oooh come to me!  So dense and cocoa-y, and not overwhelming with the frosting at all!

...Triple Layer Chocolatey goodness!...

I’m definitely coming back for that High Tea, even if I have to drag Mr O with me!

