770 Brunswick  Street
Prince  George, BC  V2L 2C2

250-563-0121

Su-Th: 5pm-9pm / F-Sa: 5pm-10pm

Shogun Japanese Steakhouse on Urbanspoon

Jun 26, 2010

The 2nd International Fascia Research Congress took place in Amsterdam, the Netherlands.  The replay of the event took place in Prince George, BC…. Can we guess which one I got to attend?

 

Well, to my disappointment, it wasn’t the one in Amsterdam.  But the replay was very informative.  (Yes yes, useless information I know… but I’m trying to build up a climax here!)  Friday evening I drove up here with Miss SH and Miss CD.  Miss CD and I stayed at the Coast Inn of the North.  Two of the more well-known restaurants in town are located within the hotel, one of which is Shogun, a Japanese steak house.

We made reservations to have dinner there on the Saturday night and was joined by Miss SH’s boyfriend, B.  Because Shogun was known for it’s teppanyaki, I had asked to be seated grill-side so that I could get the full on experience of teppan style cooking.

I ordered a 2-pc spring salmon nigiri starter and split an order of california rolls with Miss CD.  For my main course I asked for the Ozeki combo, which included a striploin steak, cooked to order, and prawns (shrimp and scallops were my other seafood options).  Miss CD ordered the Kobe combo, which featured a lobster tail, and scallops.  B originally wanted to order the beef tenderloin and seafood donburi, but was talked out of it by the waitress and changed his order to the Ozeki combo as well.  Miss SH wanted nothing to do with cooked food and asked for the sashimi boat dinner, which included fresh pieces of tuna, Hawaiian tuna, salmon, surf clam, red snapper, octopus, mackerel, and sweet raw shrimp.

 

...here fishy fishy...

The salmon on my nigiri was a deep red colour, which makes me think the fish is wild and not farmed.  It was tasty fish, but the rice seemed bland and broke apart far too easily when I tried to pick them up with my chopsticks (yes, I know… it’s *supposed* to be finger food!).  When I moved on to the california rolls, I was pleasantly surprised to find that it had REAL crab in it.  But it didn’t taste as good as I had hoped… the taste of crab was a bit more overwhelming that I had anticipated.  I’d probably wouldn’t order it again, but I’ve never been a huge fan of california rolls in the first place.

 

...sake nigiri for one...

...california rolls for two...

The Shogun salad is included in the dinner and it was a simple green garden salad served with a ginger dressing.  It was a lovely dressing but there was too much of it on my plate and after several minutes the greens were quite drenched in it.  We actually all agreed that it was too much dressing for one plate.

 

...greens and ginger...

The main attraction was the teppanyaki, of course.  The chef was quite funny in a corny kind of way and poked fun at my camera skills in a good natured manner… (the lights were DIM! and I forgot my tripod! and flash didn’t make the food look appetizing at all!)  Alright… enough with  my excuses!

The first burst of flames was HOT… it reminded me of the Back Draft show down at the Universal Studios.  The seafood was the first thing cooked and dang did his hands move fast!  I tried… REALLY tried to take pictures but those crazy limbs were just too fast for my camera!

 

...swoosh!...

 

...where are the hands?!...

My prawns came back succulent.  There are two types of dipping sauces to choose from: a mustard sauce and a ginger sauce.  I couldn’t decide which to dip my prawns in because both were very nice… so I alternated!

As we noshed, Miss CD’s lobster and our steak were thrown into the fire.  I had asked for my steak to be done medium-rare so it didn’t take too long before it was sitting on my plate.  Oh the meat was so tender and juicy… it was absolutely delicious!

 

...lovely steak...

By this point we were all approaching the stage where we were all stuffed to the gills, but who could resist the grilled veggies that came next?  A medley of bean sprouts, onions, zucchini, carrots, and asparagus was cooked with some soy sauce, and included a display which involved black lights and sesame seeds.  The kids will definitely like this part.

 

...onion volcano?...

...goes boom!...

As we filled in all the nooks and crannies of our bellies with the veggies, the chef ended the evening with a short and entertaining drumming routine.  All in all, the evening took about 1.5 hours.

Miss SH’s boat came with dessert, while ours didn’t, so we all sat back in our seats to digest while she had her ice cream.

It was a great way to spend a Saturday evening.  Next time… I’ll have to remember to not fill up on the rice!

