UPDATED APRIL 7, 2011 : RESTAURANT CLOSED :(

 

178 Oliver Street
Williams Lake, BC  V2G1L8

250-398-6060

Screaming Carrot Juice and Smoothie Bar on Urbanspoon

September 8, 2010

By the time the third person had told me about the goods things that is the Screaming Carrot, I knew it was time to make a trip.  So Miss B and I decided to enjoy a warm summer’s day and take a nice leisurely stroll here to grab some lunch.  Now, the Screaming Carrot is first and foremost a juice and smoothie bar, but they do have a limited menu which consist of wraps, salads and baked goods available for a nice, quick and healthy meal.  The establishment also shares it space with a muay thai and kickboxing gym so this place is all about being healthy.

Someone had raved about the Yam Wow wrap and really got me all excited about trying it for myself… but it was just after the lunch hour when we arrived and, alas, they had *JUST* sold out on them before I got there!  They appear to make almost all their food ahead of time, so once they run out of an item, they’re off the menu for the rest of the day.  So I decided to try the Chicken Thai wrap instead.  I also wanted to try a slice of their carrot cake, but they were also sold out!  But the Wilderness Lodge cookie looked like a very suitable consolation prize so I got that as well.  Apparently they were another fast seller so I was very pleased that I was able to snag one of the last few.  Miss B also got the Chicken Thai wrap, as well as a Goji ball, and we picked up a couple of smoothies to bring back to the office with us.

The juices and smoothies are made on-site the moment you order them and are super fresh, and they use all organic ingredients.  Raw juices and protein drinks are available here as well, and today we ordered the ‘mango-tango’, which had guava nectar, frozen yogurt, mango, strawberries, and peach; and a berry drink which had raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, cranberries, bananas, frozen yogurt and apples.

...juicy... smoothie...

The wrap consisted of a whole wheat tortilla wrapped around thin rice noodles, snowpeas, carrot, green onions and chicken.  A nice sweet peanut sauce came with it for dipping and it was absolutely delicious.  It complimented the wrap very nicely, and quite frankly, I would’ve drank the whole container if it wasn’t so inappropriate.

...chicken thai wrap...

The Wilderness Lodge cookie is like a tricked out version of Starbuck’s Kitsilano cookie… it is chock full of oatmeal, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, dried cranberries, coconut, chocolate chips and all sorts of warm autumn spices.  This is a serious cookie and very dense and filling.  And due to its long list of nutritious ingredients, I didn’t feel as guilty eating one!

...cookie goodness...

Miss B’s Golgi ball was a little bit more unconventional.  It was a series of ingredients that have been pulverised together into a paste and formed into the shape that it is.  It includes goji berries, which is supposed to have medicinal qualities, dried apricot, almonds, lemon zest, sesame seeds and coconut.  Now, I was raised to drink goji-steeped herbal soups as a child and hence, goji does not equivalate into dessert for me, so I passed on trying.  Miss B didn’t seem to mind it, and said that you could taste the lemon and coconut more than anything.

...goji power!!...

I can’t wait to go back to try their other food… This time I will be sure to go a little earlier so that I can grab that elusive Yam Wow wrap!  I can’t wait to see what it tastes like!

