1527 Hwy 97 South
Williams Lake, BC  V2G 2W5

250-392-4225

M-Sa: 11am – 10pm / Su: 10am – 8pm

 

Big Mama's Steak House on Urbanspoon

September 19, 2010

What do you do if you’re anchoring for lunch and your (fairly) significant other is still in the mind for breakfast?  Why… you go to brunch of course!  And Big Mama’s Steakhouse is where we found ourselves one lazy Sunday afternoon.  For $16.00 between the hours of 10am-2pm you can have pretty much anything your heart desires at their brunch buffet, regardless of whichever meal it is you’re trying to satisfy.

Mr O and I were seated at a table with a beautiful view of the lake, and we had our coffee orders taken before approaching the buffet.  I went straight for the lunch section, whereas he headed towards the breakfast arena.

My eyes immediately zoomed in on the beef ribs that were sitting all pretty and meat-like in their tray and I made a straight bee-line for that.  I also piled on steamed veggies, potato salad, and baked chicken.  But as I passed by the carving station, I thought… “what the heck” and opened up some real estate on my plate.  Beef or ham… ham or beef?  I believe a slice of roast beef will do… a *thin* slice mind you… I had to make sure I had room for dessert you know.

The made-to-order omelette station just so happened to be located next to the roasts and that was where Mr O had one made up for him with the works:  sausage, ham, bacon, onions, mushrooms, cheddar, bell peppers, and tomatoes.  Erm… hold the jalepenos though.  And while that was cooking away, he picked up some French toast, sausage links and bacon, roasted potatoes, lemon fish, and a piece of baked chicken to his plate.

...workin' an omelet...

The ribs were delicious… nothing like knowing on a beef bone to feel like one of the Flintstones!  The sauce was very flavourful with a nice tang and had pieces of tender onions in it.  It went very well with the potato salad, which was very creamy and had nice chunks of potato.  The chicken was very tender and cuts very well with the butter knife (which was good because I didn’t realise I had walked right pass the steak-knives in my haste to get to the ribs).

...ooohhh... hello ribs!...

...chick chick...

I even went back for seconds to get another rib… and don’t think for a second that I’m ashamed of it.  Another rib with more veggies, and I took more time to peruse the salad bar.  Besides the potato salad, there was also a pasta salad, Caesar, and Greek, to name a few.  I settled for a bowl of the fruit salad which looked very fresh, and added to it some chopped strawberries, preserved peaches, and preserved mandarin slices.

...see? I can do healthy!...

Mr O tackled his omelette with relish and cleaned his plate up rather well.  He raved about the French toast which was made out of thick slices of French bread.  Slathered in syrup and butter, it was almost like a dessert rather than breakfast!  I wasn’t surprised when he went back for some more of it!

...breakfast dessert... bressert?!

...bacon's good...

Speaking of dessert… did we have room for it in the end?  Of course we did… but just barely.  The sweets display was almost overwhelming: rich chocolate cake, assorted cheesecakes, slices of pie, cups of jello, cute lil cupcakes, and what we figured to be Portuguese custard tarts but wasn’t sure.  Well, whatever it was Mr O grabbed one of them, along with a slice of cheesecake and stole a bit of the strawberries from the salad bar.  I helped myself to a nice slice of the chocolate cake and was walking back to the table when something terrible caught my eye.  Sitting in a bowl of ice, trying to be all innocent and failing horribly, was a container of whipped cream.  With *NO* supervision!?  Goodness, it took a bit of restraint to watch how much of it I put on my cake.

...oops... couldn't wait!...

The chocolate cake was very rich and, along with the caffeine, was a really nice way to end the meal.  We were both very full and pleased with the food.  Would there even be a need to dinner?  Guess we’ll just have to lay down, digest and enjoy the rest of our Sunday to find out!

