370 Proctor Street
Williams Lake, BC  V2G 4P6

250-305-5555

Sun-Thurs: 3p – 11p / Fri-Sat: 3p – 12a

Red Tomato Pies on Urbanspoon

February 20, 2011

It’s snowing outside and temperatures are hovering around the minus 20 mark, and I pondered to myself… Why brave the outside weather when we live in an age where dinner can be brought *TO* you?  Right to your front door, in fact?  So with my mind set I scoured the phonebook and came up with basically two alternatives which deliver… pizza or Chinese food.

By a vote of 2-0, pizza won out and we decided to give the good folks at Red Tomato Pies a call.  They now sit where Canadian Pizza 2 for 1 used to be, and they must be doing something oh so right because I keep hearing good things about them.  Thus, I was quite comfortable venturing outside of my realm of comfort, where pizzas were concerned, to give them a try.

I tried to master their online ordering system, but soon grew frustrated so I gave up and just called them.  A very personable pre-recording will greet you and tell you what their current specials are.  Do not be fooled into talking to it like I did!  Wait patiently for a live person to pick up before you give them your order!

We opted for the Family Deal, which included 2 medium sized 2-topping pizzas, a small order of cheese bread, and a 2L coke.  For the foundation, you get to choose from the traditional pan crust, a thin crust, a cornmeal thin crust, or a pan-fried crust, which is a crunchier version of the pan crust.  They also have gluten-free crusts that are available in the small size.

Their choice of sauces are what really appealed to me; I’ve never been a big fan of tomato sauce and that’s probably why I don’t eat pizza as often as Mr O would like me to.  But in addition to their signature RTP red sauce, you can also choose from salsa, BBQ, alfredo, honey garlic, or pesto!  Oh the choices!

We stuck with a basic traditional pan crust, red sauce, pepperoni and black olives for our first pizza, and tried a pan-fried crust, pesto sauce, shrimp and mushrooms for our second pizza.  Then for the next 30 minutes we waited eagerly for our dinner to arrive.

I must say, when the pizzas arrived they looked very pretty right out of the box.  All the toppings were intact, the cheese on top was nicely golden, and they didn’t skimp on the ingredients (I was very surprised at home much shrimp there was on the pizza!)  I grabbed a couple of slices onto my plate and did my crust-bottom check to see how evenly it was baked… there’s nothing I hate more than a blackened crust.  Well, that’s not quite true, but I’m only talking about pizza here…

...bottoms up!...

The crust of the pan-fried wasn’t noticeably crunchier that the traditional, but it was oilier.  There was also a slight soggy factor happening to the bottom of my crust, but that might’ve been more due to the type of toppings that’s sitting on it rather than the crust itself.  Overall, it had a nice doughy bread texture that’s nice to bite into, and the rinds were very much worth eating (usually I just throw them away).  As for the traditional crust, we had absolutely no complaints about it and it was probably one of the better crusts we’ve ever had in pizza form.  The red sauce had just the right amount of herbs and spices, with a hint of tang which didn’t overwhelm the pizza, which I liked.  And the pesto was just awesome with its rich basil flavour.  Somehow it made it taste more pizza-ish.

...pesto and shrimp...

...classic pep and olives...

The cheese bread was a small pizza that’s been topped with a generous helping of cheese and some herbs.  Mr O loved it at first bite, but it took a little longer for it to grow on me.  My first thought was that there was almost an overwhelming amount of parmesan on it, but the more I ate it the more I began to crave the saltiness of it.

...cheeeeesy...

I must say we did quite a respectable job at clearing through our food, and it was a nice change of pace ordering from a local pizzeria instead of a large nationwide chain.  I’m actually looking forward to ordering out for pizza from here again because I really *really* want to try their honey garlic pizza sauce!

