86 Third Ave N
Williams Lake, BC  V2G 2A2

250-398-2006

Kara Mia's Donairs on Urbanspoon

June 1, 2011

The puck dropped earlier today for game 1 of the final series between the Canucks and the Bruins and I was in a hurry to get home.  Karamia’s Donairs was close enough to where I work so I dropped in there to grab some dinner to go.

Karamia’s had recently relocated to its current location on 3rd Avenue and is known for its Nova Scotian style donairs.  What’s a Nova Scotian donair you ask?  It’s pretty similar to the Middle Eastern variation, but with a unique sauce that’s made up of evaporated milk, sugar, garlic, and vinegar.  Personally, I find this sauce terribly addictive but be warned: the garlic likes to linger so always make sure there’s gum for afterwards.

The menu lists a pretty good variety of donairs, ranging from the simplistic Plain Jane, which includes your choice of meat (beef, lamb or chicken) and sauce, to the healthy Fully Loaded, which is pretty packed with all sorts of ingredients, and in between there’s about a half dozen other types of donairs to choose from.  But if the wraps aren’t your cup of tea, they also have soups, sandwiches, and pita pizzas to offer.

Tonight I ordered the Maritimer with beef, which comes with onions, tomatoes and the sweet sauce.  I asked to swap the onions for lettuce though because having garlic breath is one thing… but garlic and onion breath co-mingling together might be more than what Mr O is willing to put up with.

...maritimer... please 'cuse the crap-tastic focus...

Mr O had a more elaborate donair to eat.  I ordered the Greek for him, which included beef, onions, olives, cucumber, tomatoes, feta cheese, and tzatziki sauce.  And he pretty much devoured it as soon as I had taken a picture of his dinner.  It’s a good thing I was quick with the camera!

...greek wrap... please 'cuse the crap-tastic focus...

Now there’s a trick to eating a donair.  You’ve gotta unwrap the foil as you eat, ripping off only a few inches of foil at a time!  Trust me, everything stays sooo much cleaner this way… you try to eat a donair without its protective wrapper and you’re pretty much asking for food all over the front of your shirt.  Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

It was delicious, like always.  However, tonight we thought that the beef was on the dry side.  This might’ve been due to the fact that it was pretty late in the day when I had picked these up.  Normally when you walk in you’re greeted to the sight of three vertical rotisseries packed with spiced meats, happily grilling away.  During the day the meat is sliced away as it’s needed, and it’s actually pretty cool to watch them rotate as you’re waiting for your food.  But tonight everything had been cleaned up and packed away, and pre-sliced meat was brought out of a container.  Oh well, I never was very good at being the early bird.

At this point, I feel like I have to mention something about the customer service here.  Now, I’ve been a fan of Karamia’s since day one when it was located at its original location on Midnight.  I’ve been there several times and had always enjoyed the food they make.  So it is with this in mind that I have to say that the customer service can be iffy at times.  Depending on who is working behind the counter I’ve had anywhere from really awesome service to some just-okay service.  But it’s a minor thing that I’ve learned to shrug off because the food is really worth it.  And really, food should always be the main attraction of any restaurant.