1108 E Trans Canada Hwy
Cache Creek, BC  V0K 1H0

250-457-6735

Sun-Thurs: 7am – 8pm / Fri & Sat: 7am – 9pm

Chum's A Family Restaurant on Urbanspoon

September 26th, 2010

So we spent another weekend down at the Coast to celebrate my FiL’s 70th birthday (…not bad eh?) and chugged along slowly back home.  Somehow we managed to hit up Cache Creek again around dinner time so we decided to give Chum’s a whirl this time.  It looked promising because there were quite a few cars parked outside.

The interior was quite dated and pretty much all the seats along the windows were taken up by other patrons, so we were seated along this half-wall that separated the sitting area from the serving station.  I can’t recall if there was any music playing in the background… but I sure was updated on the latest gossip amongst the employees!  It was an experience which bordered on charm and annoyance.

The girl that ended up taking our order was a bit curt.  I thought it was just the result of an aloof personality, but Mr O thought she was being a bag.  *ouch*  However, the girl that ended up bringing us our food was very friendly and balanced out the frostiness.

I ordered the Monte Cristo and Mr O asked for a Clubhouse.

Now, I’ve never had a Monte Cristo before so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, nor know what it was supposed to taste like.  I decided to be naughty and asked for it on white bread, and something that looked like a sandwich dipped and fried in egg arrived in front of me.  Between the bread were slices of black forest ham, roasted turkey, and swiss cheese.  The ham was salty, the turkey was bland and it had an overall taste combination that left me confused.  I wasn’t quite sure if I liked it.  I definitely didn’t like the way the bread was soggy and the insides seemed to be dripping clear liquid onto the plate.  Had something been re-steamed?  The second half of my sandwich had to be conquered with a fork and knife because by this point the bread was too limp and everything was falling apart in my hands.

...Monte Cristo...

...ready for a close-up?...

Mr O’s clubhouse arrived but it looked more like a BLT.  We’ve got the bacon… the lettuce… and the tomatoes… but the turkey appeared to be missing.  He figured that it would take too long to rectify the situation so he just ate it.  He thought it tasted pretty standard… hard to mess up on a BLT I guess.

...clubhouse?... blt?... hmm...

...bacon-y...

The fries looked like the pre-frozen variety and it came out nice and crispy.

By the time we were done eating, I was feeling like I was still missing something and thought about ordering a slice of pie to see if that would fill me up.  But when waitress #1 came along to clear up our plates, she stuck our bill at our table and walked off before I was able to ask for dessert.  So we flagged her down again and asked for a slice of the blueberry pie, heated with no ice cream.

Well, I polished it off pretty quick despite it looking like the pie filling came from a can.  The crust of the pie was pretty piping hot but the filling was still cold so I’m gonna deduce that the microwave was implemented in warming it up.  No worries, it did the job and filled my sweet tooth, saving me a trip to the DQ.

...pie time...

Verdict?  I can’t say I’m a fan of the food.  Even Mr O, who normally doesn’t care where he eats, would probably say “no” to another visit.  So I think it’s safe to say that we’ll try another place next time in Cache Creek.